Kiwanis Luncheon - Peter Weltman, Ontario’s Financial Accountability Officer

12:00 at the Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club

Peter Weltman, spoke about his role as Ontario’s Financial Accountability Officer and piqued our curiosity and interest in becoming a bit more aware of Ontario’s economic and fiscal situation. He stated that their office prepares the facts and have no opinion on recession or forecasts. There was discussion on Quebec’s labor force for female vs. male being the highest in the country which is attributable to their inexpensive child care. For more information on how Ontario is no longer the growth engine in Canada, Peter agreed to share his presentation which is attached. Their website for more information is and if for any questions Peter indicated you can contact him directly

Welcome New Member

Ron Mathurin, VP of Sales and Merchandising at La-Z-Boy Home Furnishings and Décor who was introduced by Tom Pullen on behalf of his sponsor Alan Smith.  Ron is the new Corporate Member representative from La-Z-Boy and will be joining Corporate Membership and Bed Race Committees. Welcome Ron! 

Kiwanis Luncheon at the Rockcliffe Boathouse Restaurant

12:00 at the Rockliffe Boat House Restaurant

The Restaurant, is just off the Sir George-Etienne Cartier Parkway.  Take the parkway to the first lookout coming from downtown (at Lisgar Road) and the sign is posted for the restaurant which is located on the water so go down the dirt road to the parking lot.  It is wheelchair accessible and there is plenty of parking.


A Kiwanis banner will be posted beside the lookout.

Join us at this great location on the water.  
A chance to invite a guest and to share in the camaraderie with fellow Kiwanians and friends.
No guest speaker.  Rain or shine as the outdoor restaurant is covered.

Kiwanis Luncheon - Legion of Honour

12:00 - Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club, One Hunt Club Road, Ottawa

The success of Kiwanis in local communities results from the dedicated and active service of Kiwanis members, many of whom have been members for 25 years or more. We will be recognizing the following:

40 Botho von Hampeln 
40                                  Don Keyes                            
35                                  Ken Miller       
35                                  David Costford                      
35                                  Michel Podeszfinski             
35                                  Dr. Wilbert Keon                 
30                                  Jamie Johnson                      
30                                  Robert Thompson                
30                                  Albert Monsour                     
30                                  Reverend John Moor            
30                                  Ross McHardy                      
25 Clive Woolley